The Importances of a support belt & weight belt whilst training with a stoma!

🔝( A Photo before surgery ! )

Before my surgery I always wore a weightlifting belt on heavy lifts, but now its even more vital that I wear one, even for a weight I never normally ‘use’ to not wear one for. Due to the major surgery that is involved with removing the bowel your abdominal muscles take a beating, they pull your small intestine through your stomach muscles to the surface of your skin! So no matter how much core work you do… there will always be weakness around the stoma!

If you strain to much during anysort of exercise it could cause a hernia, which Is not an ideal situation you want to find yourself in.

Now, I have a support belt I wear every single gym session, it gives me a firm support but isn’t too tight that its uncomfortable, it also hides my ileostomy very well 🙂
(here it is below)
20150227_153147

but for compound lifts such as deadlifts/bend over rows (see pic below)

20150227_135600~2

I wear a weightlifting belt which is very tight so I don’t advice wearing it for a long period of time with your stoma but whilst doing a set I find it perfect, all the strain is forced into the belt and my core Isn’t exerted.
As well as wearing a weightlifting belt before doing any sort of heavy compound movement I would advice you to practice your form and technique because this is where an injury could be caused.

Im 16 weeks post surgery so Im avoiding real heavy lifts, and Ill probably still stick to this, the risk of a hernia Is just to high and I wouldn’t want anymore set backs In my training.

Also! I quick update on my weight…. on the 22/01/15 I was 60.9kg I am now 63.6kg! And its not prednisone weight… feeling very healthy and happy 🙂

X

4 thoughts on “The Importances of a support belt & weight belt whilst training with a stoma!

  1. Toby says:

    Hey, I was wondering how long you waited after surgery before you got back into the gym? How confident were you when you started back? I have been told 8 weeks and don’t plan on starting anytime sooner. Thanks.

    • colitisdiva says:

      Heya Toby, I started around 8/9 weeks post surgery! Very very light, i did alot of rehab exercises for the core during recovery (when painfree and possible) was your surgery key hole or open surgery??

Leave a Reply

